Monday, March 4, 2019

Computers: What's the OSI Layer Model?

The OSI layer model was developed by ISO to describe the layers that data travels through as it is processed to continue to the internet and the receiving computer. There are 7 layers and the pneumonic for remembering the layer names is:

All People Seem to Need Data Processing

The layer names are:

1. Application
2. Presentation
3. Session
4. Transport
5. Network
6. Data-link
7. Physical

They are often referred to by numbers (1-7).

OSI is the acronym for Open System Interconnect. ISO is the International Standards Organization.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave your professional comments.